Piece, Print, Quilt

When Katie’s Luminous Linocuts class started up again a couple weeks ago, I decided to create a large print on a  background pieced from yellow and white scraps from a recent quilting retreat at Bishop’s Ranch in Healdsburg, CA.  I wanted the background to create a landscape feeling with a darker silhouette of plants in the foreground.  I considered appliquéing the silhouettes onto the background, but thought it might be fun to try printing it onto the fabric.  I drew the design onto a large 24″ x 20 piece of lino, dividing it into sections so it would be easier to ink up with a 12 inch roller.  Then I carved the lino for about a week.

Pod Lino

I did some test prints on paper, then printed the design onto two different pieced tops.  The first, shown below, was a test, just to make sure my idea would work before printing on the yellow and white fabric.

Pod lino print IOnce I was satisfied with the result, I printed it onto my yellow and white fabric.  I like the interesting effects achieved by printing on fabric, especially areas where the seams or the fabric created resists in areas. (Click on the photos to see the detail.)  Next step – add stitching. Pod lino print II

3 thoughts on “Piece, Print, Quilt

Leave a Reply

